Outlet Powered researches portable power stations, solar generators and plug-in solar products for US homes, using published information. We don't physically test products, and we keep manufacturer claims and our own calculations clearly apart. Where another outlet has published its own test of a model, the model page credits it by name under "Measured by others", with the test conditions, the date and a link.
What we use
For product specifications, we use the manufacturer's own sources:
- The manufacturer's official US product page.
- The manufacturer's official user manual.
- Official support pages, such as FAQs and warranty policies, when a figure appears only there.
We record the source URL and the date we checked it, and on each model page every figure links to the page it came from. We look for the details that show what a product can power, how much energy it stores, how it charges and what limits apply: battery capacity, AC output, charging input, battery chemistry, cycle-life claims, expansion options and other published specifications.
If a specification is missing from the official sources, we show "Not stated." We don't fill gaps with estimates or assume a figure from one model applies to another. US specifications take priority because Outlet Powered serves US households, and a product sold in another region may have different electrical specifications. When a product page and the manual disagree, we use the manual and note the difference.
When a published test from another outlet adds useful evidence, we cite it on the model page, crediting the outlet by name and linking to its work. Those figures are the outlet's, not ours.
What we do not do
Outlet Powered doesn't physically test power stations, solar panels, batteries or household appliances. We don't claim to have measured battery runtime, charging speed, inverter efficiency, noise or output performance ourselves, and we don't present manufacturer specifications as independent test results.
We never accept free products in exchange for coverage; if that policy changes, we'll disclose the arrangement on the relevant page. We also don't publish store prices until a store feed provides a price and its timestamp.
How we pick products
Our comparisons ask whether a product's published specifications fit the job being discussed. A power station for refrigerator backup needs enough output to run the appliance and enough battery capacity for the runtime required, and one meant for solar charging also needs suitable solar input. We compare documented capabilities and limits rather than assuming a bigger battery or higher advertised output makes a product right for every household. Where the evidence is incomplete, we say so.
Affiliate commissions never determine our product picks or change the numbers in our comparisons.
How our calculators work
Runtime estimates are calculations, not physical measurements. We assume 80% to 90% of rated battery capacity reaches appliances plugged into the AC outlets, so a power station rated at 1,000Wh is treated as delivering 800Wh to 900Wh. Dividing that energy by the appliance's average power draw gives the runtime, shown as a range rather than a guaranteed operating time.
Runtime in use can differ because of appliance behavior, inverter losses, operating conditions and the power station's design. Use your appliance's measured consumption when you have it.
How we handle AI
ChatGPT helps us draft the guides. An AI research assistant, Claude, pulls each figure from the maker's manual or US product page and records the source link and the date it checked it. We review each page before publication. Each model page states whether a second check of its figures against the printed manual is complete, and none is complete yet. If the source does not support a value, we mark it "Not stated".
How we keep pages current
Product specifications, availability and documentation can change, so we record when manufacturer sources were checked and show readers when the information was reviewed. When we find an error, we correct the affected content and record the change, with the date, on our corrections page. You can report a suspected error through the contact page.